What are the five main events from each season in The Yearling?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

A list of main events for each season might look like this:

Spring:  Slewfoot kills the sow, Julia is hurt in the hunt for Slewfoot, Penny and Jody visit the Forresters to trade for a gun, Oliver comes back from the sea, Jody risks his friendship with Fodder Wing by helping Oliver in a fight

Summer:  Penny and Jody hunt for their hogs, Penny is snakebit, Penny kills a doe to use her liver to draw out the poison, Jody finds a fawn, Fodder Wing dies

Autumn:  The big rainstorm strikes, settlers try to salvage their crops, plague hits the wildlife, Slewfoot kills a hog, Flag begins to be destructive

Winter:  Penny kills Slewfoot, the Baxters cannot keep Flag from destroying their crops, Jody kills Flag, Jody runs away, Jody returns home with newfound maturity

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial