William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge Lyrical Ballads Principal Works - Essay

Principal Works

(Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism)

Descriptive Sketches (poetry) 1793

An Evening Walk: An Epistle in Verse (poetry) 1793

*Lyrical Ballads [with Samuel Taylor Coleridge] (poetry) 1798

Poems (poetry) 1807

The Excursion, Being a Portion of the Recluse (poetry) 1814

Poems (poetry) 1815

The White Doe of Rylstone; or, The Fate of the Nortons (poetry) 1815

Peter Bell: A Tale in Verse (poetry) 1819

The Waggoner (poetry) 1819

The River Duddon: A Series of Sonnets, Vaudracour and Julia, and Other Poems (poetry) 1820

Ecclesiastical Sketches (poetry) 1822

Memorials of a Tour on the Continent, 1820 (poetry) 1822

Yarrow Revisited and Other Poems (poetry) 1835

The Sonnets of William Wordsworth (poetry) 1838

Poems, Chiefly of Early and Late Years; Including The Borderers (poetry and a play) 1842-54

The Prelude, or Growth of a Poet's Mind: Autobiographical Poem (poetry) 1850

The Recluse (unfinished poem) 1888

The Letters of William and Dorothy Wordsworth. 8 vols. to date (letters) 1967-

The Cornell Wordsworth. 19 vols. to date (poetry, prose, plays) 1975-

The Fall of Robespierre [with Robert Southey] (play) 1794

Poems on Various Subjects (poetry) 1796; revised as Poems, 1797

Ode on the Departing Year (poetry) 1797

Osorio (play) 1797; revised as Remorse, 1813

Fears in Solitude (poetry) 1798

*Lyrical Ballads [with William Wordsworth] (poetry) 1798

Poems (poetry) 1803

Christabel. Kubla Khan: A Vision. The Pains of Sleep (poetry) 1816

Biographia Literaria; or, Biographical Sketches of My Literary Life and Opinions (essays) 1817

Sybelline Leaves (poetry) 1817

The Complete Works of Samuel Taylor Coleridge. 7 vols. (poetry, plays, translation, and essays) 1853

Collected Letters. 6 vols. (letters) 1956-71

The Notebooks of Samuel Taylor Coleridge. 3 vols. (notebooks) 1957-73

*Enlarged editions of Lyrical Ballads were published in 1801 and 1802. A final edition was published in 1805.

The Borderers was written in 1795.

‡This work was written during the period of 1799-1805.