Principal Works

Download PDF PDF Page Citation Cite Share Link Share

Last Updated on June 7, 2022, by eNotes Editorial. Word Count: 337

The Eve of Saint John (poetry) 1800

Minstrelsy of the Scottish Border. 3 vols. [editor and contributor] (poetry) 1802-03

The Lay of the Last Minstrel (poetry) 1805

Ballads and Lyrical Pieces (poetry) 1807

Marmion: A Tale of Flodden Field (poetry) 1808

The Lady of the Lake (poetry) 1810

The Vision of Don Roderick (poetry) 1811

The Bridal of Triermain; or, the Vale of St. John (poetry) 1813

Rokeby (poetry) 1813

Waverley; or, 'Tis Sixty Years Since (novel) 1814

The Field of Waterloo (poetry) 1815

Guy Mannering; or, The Astrologer (novel) 1815

The Lord of the Isles (poetry) 1815

The Antiquary (novel) 1816

*The Black Dwarf (novel) 1816

*Old Mortality (novel) 1816

Harold the Dauntless (poetry) 1817

*The Heart of Midlothian (novel) 1818

Rob Roy (novel) 1818

*The Bride of Lammermoor (novel) 1819

*The Legend of Montrose (novel) 1819

The Abbot (novel) 1820

Ivanhoe (novel) 1820

Miscellaneous Poems (poetry) 1820

The Monastery (novel) 1820

Kenilworth (novel) 1821

The Fortunes of Nigel (novel) 1822

Peveril of the Peak (novel) 1822

The Pirate (novel) 1822

Quentin Durward (novel) 1823

Redgauntlet: A Tale of the Eighteenth Century (novel) 1824

St. Ronan's Well (novel) 1824

Tales of the Crusaders (novels) 1825

Woodstock; or, The Cavalier: A Tale of the Year Sixteen Hundred and Fifty-One (novel) 1826

Chronicles of the Canongate (short stories) 1827

Chronicles of the Canongate. Second Series. (novel) 1828

Anne of Geierstein; or, The Maiden of the Mist (novel) 1829

Waverley Novels. 48 vols. (novels) 1829-33

*Castle Dangerous (novel) 1832

*Count Robert of Paris (novel) 1832

The Miscellaneous Works of Sir Walter Scott. 30 vols. (biographies, travel essays, history, and criticism) 1870-71

The Journal of Sir Walter Scott (journal) 1890

The Waverley Novels. 25 vols. (novels) 1892-94

The Complete Poetical Works of Sir Walter Scott. 5 vols. (poetry) 1894

The Letters of Sir Walter Scott. 12 vols. (letters) 1932-37

*These works were written under the pseudonym Jedediah Cleishbotham and originally published in the four series of Tales of My Landlord, Collected and Arranged by Jedediah Cleishbotham, Schoolmaster and Parish-Clerk of Gandercleugh.

†Comprised of the novels The Betrothed and The Talisman.

‡The first series of this work consists of the short stories “The Highland Widow,” “The Surgeon's Daughter,” and “The Two Drovers.” The second series contains the novel St. Valentine's Day; or, The Fair Maid of Perth.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access