Principal Works

Download PDF Print Page Citation Share Link

Last Updated on May 5, 2015, by eNotes Editorial. Word Count: 462

Planet of Exile (novel) 1966

Illustration of PDF document

Download Ursula K. Le Guin Study Guide

Subscribe Now

Rocannon's World (novel) 1966

City of Illusions (novel) 1967

A Wizard of Earthsea (novel) 1968

The Left Hand of Darkness (novel) 1969

The Lathe of Heaven (novel) 1971

The Tombs of Atuan (novel) 1971

The Farthest Shore (novel) 1972

The Word for World Is Forest (novel) 1972

The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia (novel) 1974

Dreams Must Explain Themselves (essays) 1975

Wild Angels (poetry) 1975

The Wind's Twelve Quarters (short stories) 1975

No Use to Talk to Me [in The Altered Eye, edited by Lee Harding] (drama) 1976

Orsinian Tales (short stories) 1976

Very Far away from Anywhere Else (novel) 1976

The Water Is Wide (short stories) 1976

*Earthsea (novels) 1977

The Language of the Night: Essays on Fantasy and Science Fiction [edited by Susan Wood; revised edition, 1989] (criticism) 1979

Leese Webster (juvenilia) 1979

Malafrena (novel) 1979

Tillai and Tylissos [with Theodora K. Quinn] (poetry) 1979

The Beginning Place [also published as Threshold, 1980] (juvenilia) 1980

Gwilan's Harp (poetry) 1981

Hard Words and Other Poems (poetry) 1981

The Compass Rose (short stories) 1982

The Eye of the Heron, and Other Stories (novella and short stories) 1982

Cobbler's Rune (juvenilia) 1983

In the Red Zone [illustrated by Henk Pander] (poetry) 1983

Solomon Leviathan's 931st Trip around the World (juvenilia) 1983

The Visionary: The Life Story of Flicker of the Serpentine of Telina-Na [published with Wonders Hidden: Audubon's Early Years, by Scott Russell Saunders] (short stories) 1984

Always Coming Home (novel) 1985

King Dog [published with Dostoevsky, by Raymond Carver and Tess Gallagher] (screenplay) 1985

Buffalo Gals and Other Animal Presences [republished as Buffalo Gals, 1990] (short stories and poetry) 1987

Searoad: Chronicles of Klatsand (short stories) 1987

Catwings (juvenilia) 1988

A Visit from Dr. Katz [also published as Dr. Katz] (juvenilia) 1988

Wild Oats and Fireweed (poetry) 1988

Catwings Return (juvenilia) 1989

Dancing at the Edge of the World: Thoughts on Words, Women, Places [edited by Susan Wood] (essays) 1989

Fire and Stone (juvenilia) 1989

Tehanu: The...

(The entire section contains 462 words.)

Unlock This Study Guide Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this Ursula K. Le Guin study guide. You'll get access to all of the Ursula K. Le Guin content, as well as access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

  • Biography
  • Critical Essays
  • Analysis
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial



Ursula K. Le Guin Short Fiction Analysis

Explore Study Guides