What is District 12 in The Hunger Games?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

District 12 is where the main character of the Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen, is from. Her fellow tribute, Peeta Mellark, and her friend, Gale Hawthorne, are also from District 12. It is the poorest of the twelve districts, and its main function is the mining of coal for the Capitol. The twelfth district has four areas: Victor's Village, the Seam, the Hob, and the merchant section. The Victor's Village is where District 12's victors (Katniss, Peeta, and Haymitch Abernathy) live. The Seam is the poorest part of the district, and it is also where Gale Hawthorne lived as well as Katniss before she moved to the Victor's Village; it is located on the border of the district, next to the forests (where Katniss and Gale hunt). The Hob is the black market of the district, where Katniss and Gale sold their extra game from hunting; it was burned down in Catching Fire. The merchant section is exactly what it sounds like: where the merchants lived above their shops (like Peeta and his family, who were bakers; or the mayor and his family); people from this area were noticeably different from the other members of the district because they often had blond hair and blue eyes (Katniss' mother was originally from the merchant section).

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial