Stanley May Elkin

Start Free Trial

Principal Works

Download PDF PDF Page Citation Cite Share Link Share

Boswell: A Modern Comedy (novel) 1964
Criers and Kibitzers, Kibitzers and Criers (short stories) 1966
A Bad Man (novel) 1967
The Dick Gibson Show (novel) 1971
The Making of Ashenden (novella) 1972
Searches and Seizures (novellas) 1973; also published as Eligible Men: Three Short Novels, 1974, and Alex and the Gypsy, 1977
The Franchiser (novel) 1976
The Living End (novel) 1979
Stanley Elkin's Greatest Hits (short story, novella, novel fragments) 1980
The First George Mills (novel) 1981
George Mills (novel) 1982
Early Elkin (short stories) 1985
Stanley Elkin's Magic Kingdom (novel) 1985
The Rabbi of Lud (novel) 1987
The Coffee Room (novella) 1988
The MacGuffin (novel) 1991
Pieces of Soap: Essays by Stanley Elkin (essays) 1992
Van Gogh's Room at Arles: Three Novellas (novellas) 1993
Mrs. Ted Bliss (novel) 1995

∗This work contains the novella The Making of Ashenden, previously published separately and in Searches and Seizures; the short story "The Guest," previously published in Criers and Kibitzers, Kibitzers and Criers; and five excerpts from Elkin's novels: "Feldman & Son" is taken from A Bad Man; "Bernie Perk" from The Dick Gibson Show; "The Transient" from Boswell; "Mr. Softee" from The Franchiser; and "The Conventional Wisdom" from The Living End.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access



Obituaries And Tributes