What are the stages of cell division?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Cell division is the process that cells go through to reproduce.  Cell division includes interphase, which is before mitosis and cytokinesis (the actual dividing of the cell).  Interphase consists of three phases: G1 phase, which is the growth of the cell; S phase, which is the replication of the DNA; and G2 phase, which is when the cell is getting ready for mitosis. Mitosis consists of four stages: the first stage of mitosis is prophase which is when the nucleus disappears; metaphase, which is when the chromosomes line up in the middle; anaphase, which is when the chromosomes pull apart to opposite ends; and telophase, which is when the nucleus reappears. Finally cytokinesis occurs, which is when the cells divide into two. The cells are identical to each other so that every cell in your body has the same information.

Meiosis is the reproduction of reproductive cells. Sperm and egg cells. The process of meiosis is the same as with mitosis but it goes through the mitosis sequence twice. This occurs so that each cell will have one copy of each chromosome found in the cell. Therefore when two sex cells combine the resulting offspring will have two copies of each chromosome.

Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

What are the stages of mitosis?

Mitosis is part of the cell cycle, and the cell cycle guides the development and reproduction of cells.  The entire cycle is traditionally divided into three parts.  Those parts are interphase, mitosis, and cytokinesis.  

Interphase is subdivided into three smaller phases.  Those phases are G1, S (synthesis), and G2.

Following interphase, the cell will begin undergoing mitosis.  Mitosis is often called cellular division, and it has four main stages.  The four stages of mitosis are prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase.

During prophase, the chromosomes condense and become visible, the mitotic spindle begins forming, and the nuclear membrane breaks down.  

During metaphase, the chromosomes are lined up at the middle of the cell. They are ready to be pulled apart by the spindle.  It's important to note that at this point in mitosis, the chromosomes are paired up with chromosome copies called sister chromatids.  

Next comes anaphase.  During anaphase, the sister chromatids are pulled apart by the spindle.  The now separated chromosomes are pulled to opposite sides of the cell.

The final stage of mitosis is telophase.  During this phase, the spindle breaks apart, two new nuclei begin forming around the chromosomes, and the chromosomes begin to "decondense."

Cytokinesis follows mitosis.  Technically, cytokinesis can start during telophase, so it tends to overlap with mitosis a bit.  Cytokinesis is the final division of the cytoplasm into two distinct cells.  

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Last Updated on