What are two types of cervical carcinomas?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The most common types of cervical carcinomas are squamous cell carcinoma and adenocarcinoma. In the majority of cases (70 percent or more), the malignant cells are classified as squamous cell carcinomas. In the cervix, they line the outer surface. Normal squamous cells have a thin and flat appearance. It is worth noting that cancerous cells can have an abnormal appearance. Their unchecked proliferation also results in an abnormal accumulation of mutations.

In about 10 to 20 percent of cases, the cells are classified as adenocarcinomas. This type of carcinoma affects mucus-producing cells. In the cervix, they line the cervical canal. These cells are normally column-shaped. There are other types of cervical carcinomas, but these two make up the majority of cervical cancer cases.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial