What is the quantum number for angular momentum that labels the subshells?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Quantum numbers are a set of four numbers used to described the energy levels of electrons in an atom.  The first number is called the principle quantum number and gives the shell number of the electron.  The second number is called the azimuthal quantum number that gives the subshell of the electron.  The third number is the magnetic quantum number that gives the specific orbital of the subshell for the electron.  The fourth number is the spin of the electron.

I think you are looking for the third number (magnetic) that labels the different subshells for electrons.  There are four major subshells: s, p, d, and f.  The s orbitals are spherically shaped, p orbitals are "dumbbell" shaped, d orbitals have four opposing lobes on the same plane, and f orbitals with more complex shapes.  For any given subshell, there is 1 s orbital, 3 p orbitals, 5 d orbitals, and 7 f orbitals.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial