What are two time sequence changes in "A Rose for Emily"?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Author William Faulkner uses many jumps in time, most of them in "nonsequential flashbacks," in "A Rose for Emily." The story begins and ends with the death of Emily Grierson, and in-between Faulkner tells the story of her life--though in a decidedly non-linear time frame. Miss Emily is an old woman when she first "vanquished" a group of town officials concerning her overdue taxes in Chapter I. Chapter II begins 30 years earlier when "the smell" developed about her house, while Chapter III reverts back a year or two before when Homer Barron first comes to town. Chapter IV picks up where the previous chapter leaves off, recalling the final days of Homer and the beginning of the smell; it continues with Emily's final years and her death. The final chapter connects the first and fourth chapters with Emily's funeral and the climactic entry into her secret bedroom.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial