Realm of the Reaper Summary
by K. A. Applegate

Start Your Free Trial

Download Realm of the Reaper Study Guide

Subscribe Now

Realm of the Reaper Summary

(Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults)

In Everworld, the gods of ancient mythologies live and rule over their human subjects, brought with the gods when they left the Old World, Earth. Some of the wandering nature of L. Frank Baum's Oz stories is found in the fourth Everworld novel, Realm of the Reaper. In this novel, Jalil, David, Christopher, and April roam the countryside and enter a city called Her City that in its own way is as weird as the city of upside-down people in Oz. Her City is a place in which people live in fear and men are never allowed to leave. A beast stalks the city at night, leaving death in its wake, and men are the preferred prey. Jalil (the narrator) and his companions solve the mystery of the Terror Queen, and in the process find themselves unwillingly delving deep into the mysteries of life and death in Everworld.