Our Story Begins Summary
by Tobias Wolff

Start Your Free Trial

Download Our Story Begins Study Guide

Subscribe Now

Our Story Begins

(Literary Masterpieces, Volume 2)

Although Tobias Wolff is probably best known as the author of the memoir This Boy’s Life (1989), an account of his youthful struggles with a brutal stepfather that was made into a 1993 film starring Robert De Niro and Leonardo DiCaprio, his critical reputation rests largely on his three collections of short stories. Our Story Begins includes stories from each of these books, as well as ten new ones.

His first collection, In the Garden of the North American Martyrs (1981), was well received by critics, several stories becoming favorite anthology pieces read widely by university students. The title story centers on a female history professor who goes for a job interview, only to find out that she has been invited merely to satisfy an affirmative-action requirement. When she presents a public lecture as part of the interview, she ignores her prepared paper and launches into a passionate account of how the Iroquois once captured two Jesuit priests in the area, graphically describing the tortures they suffered. She quotes one of the priests who, just before his agonizing death, tells his torturers to mend their lives. When the professorial audience tries to shout her down, she continues to exhort them to turn from power to love, to walk humbly. She even turns off her hearing aid so she will not be distracted. The story is an example of what Wolff has called “winging it,” which he describes as a kind of “lifting off, letting go,” listening to the voice within and speaking with the “magic of that voice.”

Wolff’s most famous example of “winging it” is the concluding story of In the Garden of the North American Martyrs, “The Liar,” for it describes a sixteen-year-old boy who creates his own fictional world, precipitated by the death of his father, with whom the boy identifies because he coped with his fears by telling lies. The story ends with a poetic scene on a bus trip to Los Angeles, during which the boy tells his fellow passengers that he works with refugees from Tibet. When a woman asks him to speak some Tibetan, the others passengers lean back in their seats and close their eyes, while the boy, who knows no Tibetan, sings to them “in what was surely an ancient and holy tongue.” The story is a fiction-writer’s manifesto, a lyrical evocation about the human need to create an imaginative reality that bonds people together even as it asserts one’s own unique identity.

Hunters in the Snow

(The entire section is 1,935 words.)