Critical Context

Download PDF Print Page Citation Share Link

Last Updated on May 8, 2015, by eNotes Editorial. Word Count: 283

The 1940’s marked the high point of Julian Maclaren-Ross’ literary career. During this decade he published in rapid succession three collections of short stories, The Stuff to Give the Troops: Twenty-five Tales of Army Life (1944), Better Than a Kick in the Pants (1945), and The Nine Men of Soho (1946), and two novels, Bitten by the Tarantula: A Story of the South of France (1945) and Of Love and Hunger (1947). The promise of these works, which are marked by a fresh, idiosyncratic style, was not fulfilled; in subsequent years, Maclaren-Ross’ only significant publications were a reminiscence of his childhood, The Weeping and the Laughter: A Chapter of Autobiography (1953), intended to serve as the first installment of a multivolume autobiography (never completed), and the unfinished, posthumously issued Memoirs of the Forties.

Illustration of PDF document

Download Memoirs of the Forties Study Guide

Subscribe Now

The period covered by Memoirs of the Forties is treated in many other literary memoirs as well; the reader sees the same people and events from diverse and sometimes contradictory perspectives. Two fellow memoirists who must be read with Maclaren-Ross are Alan Ross, editor, poet, and cricket writer, and Anthony Powell, author of the twelve-novel sequence A Dance to the Music of Time (1951-1975). Ross, who was largely responsible for the publication of Memoirs of the Forties, includes a portrait of Maclaren-Ross in his memoir Blindfold Games (1986); in addition, his introduction to the 1984 Penguin edition of Memoirs of the Forties provides an excellent overview of Maclaren-Ross’ life and work. Powell, whose fictional character X. Trapnel, featured in several novels in A Dance to the Music of Time, was based on Maclaren-Ross, recalls that colorful figure and his milieu in The Strangers All Are Gone (1982), the concluding volume of his memoirs, To Keep the Ball Rolling (1976-1982).

Unlock This Study Guide Now

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-hour free trial