Margaret Oliphant Principal Works - Essay

Principal Works

(Short Story Criticism)

Short Fiction

Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland 1849

The Rector and the Doctor's Family [Chronicles of Carlingford series] 1863

A Beleaguered City and Other Stories 1879

The Two Mrs. Scudamores 1879

Two Stories of the Seen and the Unseen 1885; expanded edition, Stories of the Seen and the Unseen 1902

The Land of Darkness, along with Some Further Chapters in the Experience of the Little Pilgrims 1888

Neighbours on the Green: A Collection of Stories 1889

The Two Marys 1896

The Lady's Walk 1897

The Ways of Life: Two Stories 1897

A Widow's Tale and Other Stories 1898

That Little Cutty and Two Other Stories 1898

Selected Stories of the Supernatural [edited by Margaret K. Gray] 1985

The Doctor's Family and Other Stories [edited by Merryn Williams] 1986

Other Major Works

Katie Stewart (novel) 1853

The Athelings; or, The Three Gifts (novel) 1857

Chronicles of Carlingford (novel series): Salem Chapel 1863; The Perpetual Curate 1864; Miss Marjoribanks 1866; Phoebe, Junior 1876

A Son of the Soil (novel) 1865

The Minister's Wife (novel) 1869

The Three Brothers (novel) 1870

Memoirs of the Count de Montalembert: A Chapter of Recent French History (biography) 1872

The Curate in Charge (novel) 1876

The Makers of Florence: Dante, Giotto, Savonarola, and their City (history) 1876

A Little Pilgrim in the Unseen (novel) 1882

It Was a Lover and His Lass (novel) 1883

The Wizard's Son (novel) 1883

The Makers of Venice: Doges, Conquerors, Painters, and Men of Letters (history) 1887

Kirsteen. The Story of a Scottish Family Seventy Years Ago (novel) 1890

The Heir Presumptive and the Heir Apparent (novel) 1891

Jerusalem, the Holy City: Its History and Hope (history) 1891

The Railway Man and His Children (novel) 1891

Annals of a Publishing House: William Blackwood and His Sons, Their Magazine and Friends. 2 vols. (history) 1897

The Autobiography and Letters [edited by Mrs. Harry Coghill] 1899; revised edition 1899; The Autobiography [edited by Elizabeth Jay] (autobiography) 1990