Margaret (Oliphant Wilson) Oliphant *Principal Works - Essay

*Principal Works

(Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism)

Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland of Sunnyside (novel) 1849

Caleb Field: A Tale of the Puritans (novel) 1851

Merkland: A Story of Scottish Life (novel) 1851

Katie Stewart: A True Story (novel) 1853

Magdalen Hepburn: A Story of the Scottish Reformation (novel) 1854

Lilliesleaf Being a Concluding Series of Passages in the Life of Mrs. Margaret Maitland (novel) 1855

The Athelings: Or, The Three Gifts (novel) 1857

The Days of My Life (autobiography) 1857

The Life of Edward Irving, Minister of the National Scotch Church (biography) 1862

**The Rector, and the Doctor's Family (novel) 1863

**Salem Chapel (novel) 1863

**The Perpetual Curate (novel) 1864

**Miss Marjoribanks (novel) 1866

Madonna Mary (novel) 1867 Francis of Assisi (biography) 1868

Historical Sketches of the Reign of George Second (biography) 1869

The Minister's Wife (novel) 1869

Memoirs of the Count de Montalembert: A Chapter of Recent French History (biography) 1872

**Phoebe, Junior: A Last Chronicle of Carlingford (novel) 1876

A Beleaguered City (novel) 1880

The Literary History of England in the End of the Eighteenth and Beginning of the Nineteenth Century (history and criticism) 1882

A Little Pilgrim in the Unseen (novel) 1882

Hester (novel) 1883

The Ladies Lindores (novel) 1883

The Wizard's Son (novel) 1884

Lady Car: The Sequel of a Life (novel) 1889

Kirsteen: A Story of a Scottish Family Seventy Years Ago (novel) 1890

A Memoir of the Life of Laurence Oliphant and of Alice Oliphant, His Wife (biography) 1891

The Victorian Age of English Literature [with Francis Roman Oliphant] (history and criticism) 1892

*** Annals of a Publishing House: William Blackwood and His Sons, Their Magazine and Friends 2 vols. (history) 1897

The Ways of Life: Two Stories ["Mr. Sandford"; "Mr. Robert Dalyell"] (short stories) 1897

That Little Cutty, and Two Other Stories ["Dr. Barrère"; "Isabel Dysart"] (short stories) 1898

A Widow's Tale, and other Stories With an Introductory Note by J. M. Barrie (short stories) 1898

The Autobiography and Letters of Mrs. M.O.W. Oliphant Arranged and Edited by Mrs. Harry Coghill (autobiography and letters) 1899

Stories of the Seen and the Unseen ["The Open Door"; "Old Lady Mary"; "The Portrait"; "The Library Window"] (short stories) 1902

The Autobiography of Margaret Oliphant: The Complete Text [edited by Elisabeth Jay] (autobiography) 1990

*Many of Oliphant's works were first published serially in periodicals.

**These works are collectively referred to as the Chronicles of Carlingford.

***The third and final volume of this work was completed by Mary Porter in 1898.