What are the exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution in Macbeth?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In Macbeth, the exposition consists of the first two scenes, in which the heroism and military prowess of Macbeth are established, together with the interest of the witches in his career.

The rising action consists of Macbeth debating with himself, and with Lady Macbeth, as to whether he will murder King Duncan. This internal and external debate lasts until act 2, scene 2.

The climax occurs offstage when Macbeth murders King Duncan.

Because the climax occurs early, the falling action is unusually long. It consists of Macbeth becoming king and having Banquo assassinated, the appearance of Banquo's ghost at the feast, and the increasingly tyrannical conduct of Macbeth as king. It also includes the plans of Malcolm and Macduff to recapture the throne of Scotland from Macbeth, and the prophecies of the witches.

The resolution occurs when Macduff kills Macbeth in battle, and Malcolm is crowned king of Scotland. Malcolm makes a speech to end the play, setting out his priorities and restoring order.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial