Literary Prizes and Honors Announced in (Vol. 99) - Essay

Literary Prizes and Honors Announced in (Vol. 99)

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Literary Prizes and Honors Announced in 1996

Academy Awards in Literature
Bestowed by the American Academy and Institute of Arts
and Letters.
August Kleinzahler
For poetry
Paul Muldoon
For poetry
American Academy and Institute of
Arts and Letters New Members
Louise Gluck, Kenneth Koch, John Russell,
Oliver Sacks, Edmund White, Elie Wiesel
James Tait Black Memorial Book Prize
Scotland's oldest book award, bestowed by the University
of Edinburgh; two prizes of
£3000 each awarded annually.
Alan Hollinghurst
In fiction, for The Folding Star
Doris Lessing
In biography, for Under My Skin
Booker Prize for Fiction
Britain's major literary prize for fiction, established in 1968;
£20,000 awarded annually.
Graham Smith
For Last Orders
Georg Buchner Prize
Established in 1923; 60,000 German marks awarded
Sarah Kirsch
Witter Bynner Foundation Prize for Poetry
Established in 1979 and bestowed by the American
Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters; $2500 awarded
Lucie Brock-Broido
For The Master Letters
Commonwealth Writers Prize
Administered by the Association for Commonwealth
Literature and Language Studies;
£10,000 awarded annually.
Rohinton Mistry
For novel A Fine Balance
Faulker Award for Fiction
Bestowed by the PEN American Center; includes $15,000
award to winner and $5000 each to four runners-up.
Richard Ford
For novel Independence Day
E. M. Forster Award in Literature
Established in 1972 by Christopher Isherwood and
bestowed annually by the American Academy and Institute
of Arts and Letters to enable a young British writer to
travel to the U.S.
Jim Crace
Goncourt Prize
Established in 1914 by Edmond de Goncourt and awarded
annually to recognize young French writers; considered
among the most prestigious of French literature awards.
Pascale Rose
For "Le Chasseur Zero"
Governor General's Literary Awards
Established in 1936 by the Canadian Authors Association;
$10,000 awarded annually.
Marie-Claire Blais and Guy Vanderhaeghe
In fiction
E. D. Blodgett and Serge Patrice Thibodeau
In poetry
Normand Chaurette and Colleen Wagner
In drama
Michel Freitag and John Ralston Saul
In nonfiction
Guggenheim Fellowships
Awarded in recognition of exceptional ability and talent to
recipients in the U.S., Canada, and Latin American/
Caribbean nations; awards based on need and the scope
of the recipient's project.
Lucy Brock-Broido, Mark Rudman, Agha
Shalid Ali, David Ferry, Susan Howe, Robert
Wrigley, Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen,
David Guterson, Kathryn Kramer, Ralph
Lombreglia, Chris Offutt
Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award
Established in memory of Hemingway and bestowed by the
PEN American Center to recognize the first publications
of young or developing writers; $7500 awarded annually.
Chang-rae Lee
For Native Speaker
Hugo Awards
Established in 1953 to recognize notable science fiction
works in several categories.
James Patrick Kelly
For novelette Think Like a Dinosaur
Maureen F. McHugh
For short story "The Lincoln Train"
Neal Stephenson
For novel The Diamond Age
Allan Steele
For novella The Death of Captain Future
Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction
Established in 1979 in memory of Kaufman and bestowed
by the American Academy and Institute of Arts and
Letters; $2500 awarded annually.
Peter Landesman
For novel The Raven
Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize
Established by Lilly in 1986 to honor young college or
university poets; $75,000 awarded annually.
Gerald Stern
National Book Awards (a.k.a.
American Book Awards)
Administered by the National Book Foundation; $10,000
awarded in each of three categories.
Andrea Barrett
In fiction, for Ship Fever and Other Stories
James Caroll
In nonfiction, for An American Requiem: God, My Father,
and the War that Came Between Us
Hayden Carruth
In poetry, for Scrambled Eggs and Whiskey: Poems 1991
National Book Critics Circle Awards
Awarded annually to recognize outstanding books in five
Robert Darnton
In criticism, for The Forbidden Best-Sellers of Pre-
Revolutionary France
Stanley Elkin
In fiction, for Mrs. Ted Bliss
Jonathan Harr
In general nonfiction, for A Civil Action
Robert Polito
In biography/autobiography, for Savage Art: A Biography
of Jim Thompson.
William Matthews
In poetry, for Time and Money: New Poems
National Book Foundation Medal
Awarded for distinguished contribution to American letters
Toni Morrison
Nebula Awards
Established in 1965 to honor significant works of science
fiction published in the U.S.
A. E. Van Vogt
Grand Master
Esther Friesner
For short story "Death and the Librarian"
Elizabeth Hand
For novella Last Summer at Mars Hill
Ursula K. Le Guin
For novelette Solitude
Robert J. Sawyer
For novel The Terminal Experiment
Neustadt International Prize for Literature
Bestowed by the University of Oklahoma for outstanding
achievement in several categories: $40,000 awarded
Assia Djebar
Algerian poet and fiction writer
New York Drama Critics Circle Awards
Presented annually in several categories.
Jonathan Larson
For musical Rent
August Wilson
For play Seven Guitars
Nobel Prize in Literature
Awarded annually to recognize the most distinguished
work of literature of an idealistic nature; includes prize of
6.7 million Swedish kronor.
Wislawa Szymborska
For body of work
Antoinette Perry ("Tony") Awards
Established in 1947 and bestowed by the American
Theatre Wing in recognition of outstanding Broadway
Jonathan Larson
For best musical, Rent
Terrence McNally
For best play, Master Class
Edgar Allan Poe Awards
Awards in numerous categories bestowed in recognition of
achievement in mystery, crime, and suspense writing.
Dick Francis
For best novel, Come to Grief
David Heffernan
For best original paperback, Tarnished Blue
David Housewright
For best first novel, Penance
Pulitzer Prizes in Literature and Drama
In the literature and drama categories, $3000 awarded
annually for fiction by an American author on American
life and for a drama by an American author preferably
dealing with American life.
Richard Ford
In fiction, for Independence Day
Jorie Grahm
In poetry, for The Dream of the Unified Field
Jonathan Larson
In drama, for Rent
Jack Miles
In biography, for God: A Biography
Tina Rosenberg
In nonfiction, for The Haunted Land: Facing Europe's
Ghosts after Communism
Alan Taylor
In history, for William Cooper's Town
Rea Award
Established in 1986 by Michael Rea to recognize a writer
who has made a significant contribution to the short story
as an art form; $30,000 awarded annually.
Andre Dubus
For body of work
Rome Fellowship in Literature
Bestowed by the American Academy and Institute of Arts
and Letters to allow artists a year of study
at the Academy in Rome.
Randall Kenan
Fiction writer
Richard and Hilda Rosenthal Foundation
Award in Literature
Bestowed by the American Academy and Institute of Arts
and Letters for a work of fiction considered a literary
achievement but not a commercial success; $5000
awarded annually.
David Long
For short story collection Blue Spruce
Tanning Prize
Established in 1994; the largest prize for poetry
in the U.S.
James Tate
United States Poet Laureate
Established by the Library of Congress in the 1930s to
recognize an outstanding American poet.
Robert Hass
Whitbread Literary Awards
Established to encourage and promote English literature
among authors in Great Britain and Ireland;
£2000 prizes in several categories and
£20,000 awarded to the overall winner.
Kate Atkinson
For best first novel and Book of the Year, Behind the
Scenes at the Museum
Roy Jenkins
In biography, for Gladstone
Bernard O'Donoghue
In poetry, for Gunpowder
Salman Rushdie
For best novel, The Moor's Last Sigh
Morton Dauwen Zabel Award
Established in 1966 to recognize progressive, original,
and experimental tendencies in writing; $5000 awarded.
J. D. Landis