Literary Prizes and Honors Announced in (Vol. 91) - Essay


(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Literary Prizes and Honors Announced in 1995

American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters Awards

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Academy Members (new)

Jules Feiffer

Brendan Gill

Murray Kempton

James Laughlin

Richard Serra

Charles Simic

Garry Wills

August Wilson

Olly Wilson

Charles Wright

Academy Awards in Literature

Given annually to encourage creative achievement in literature.

John Haines, Josephine Humphreys, Miller Williams, Louis Begley R. V. Cassill, Jane Cooper, Stephen Dunn, Horton Foote

Award of Merit Medal for the Short Story

Larry Woiwode

Michael Braude Award for Light Verse

Wendy Cope

Witter Bynner Foundation Prize for Poetry

Established in 1979 and awarded annually to recognize an outstanding younger poet.

Franz Wright

E. M. Forster Award in Literature

Colm Tóibín

Gold Medal for Fiction

William Maxwell

The William Dean Howells Medal

John Updike
Rabbit at Rest

Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction

Awarded annually to the author of the best first fiction published during the preceding year.

Jim Grimsley
Winter Birds

Rome Fellowship in Literature

Henri Cole

Richard and Hilda Rosenthal...

(The entire section is 672 words.)

PEN American Center Awards

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Faulkner Award for Fiction

David Guterson
Snow Falling on Cedars
(see entry below)

Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award

Susan Power
The Grass Dancer
(Best first book of fiction by an American writer)
(see entry below)

Edgar Allan Poe Awards

Presented annually for outstanding achievement in mystery writing.

Mary Willis Walker
The Red Scream
(best novel)

George Dawes Green
The Caveman's Valentine
(best first mystery novel by an American writer)

Lisa Scottoline
Final Appeal
(best original paperback)

Doug Allyn
"The Dancing Bear"
(best short story)

Martin Greenberg
(Ellery Queen Award)

Mickey Spillane
(Grand Master)

Pulitzer Prizes

Awarded in recognition of outstanding accomplishments by American authors in various categories within the fields of journalism, literature, music, and drama. Literary awards usually recognize excellence in works that concern American life.

Carol Shields
The Stone Diaries
(see entry below)

Horton Foote
The Young Man form Atlanta
(see entry below)

Doris Kearns Goodwin
No Ordinary Time

Joan D. Hedrick
Harriet Beecher Stowe: A Life

Philip Levine
The Simple Truth

Tony Awards

Officially titled the American Theatre Wing's Antoinette Perry Awards, prizes are presented in recognition of outstanding achievement on Broadway.

Terrence McNally
Love! Valour! Compassion!
(best play)
(see entry below)

United States Poet Laureate

Created in 1986 by an act of Congress to honor the career achievement of an American poet.

Robert Hass