Literary Prizes and Honors Announced in Critical Essays


(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Literary Prizes and Honors Announced in 1994

Academy of American Poets Awards

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Fellowship of the Academy of American Poets

Awarded annually to recognize the distinguished achievement by an American poet.

David Ferry

The Lamont Poetry Selection

Established in 1952 to reward and encourage promising writers by supporting the publication of an American poet's second book.

Brigit Pegeen Kelly

Peter I. B. Lavan Younger Poets Award

Established in 1983 to annually recognize three accomplished American poets under the age of forty.

Peter Grizzi (selected by John Ashbery)

Li-Young Lee (selected by David Wagoner)

Cynthia Zarin (selected by Richard Wilbur)

Walt Whitman Award

Secures the publication of the first book of a living American poet.

Jan Richman
Because the Brain Can Be Talked Into Anything

American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters Awards

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Academy Awards in Literature

Given annually to encourage creative achievement in literature.

Jon Robin Baitz, Marvin Bell, Stuart Dybek, Adrienne Kennedy, Tony Kushner, Mary Lee Settle, Chase Twichell, Geoffrey Wolff

Witter Bynner Foundation Prize for Poetry

Established in 1979 and awarded annually to recognize an outstanding younger poet.

Rosanna Warren

Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction

Awarded annually to the author of the best first fiction published during the preceding year.

Emile Capouya
In the Sparrow Hills


(The entire section is 703 words.)

PEN American Center Awards

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Faulkner Award for Fiction

Annually recognizes the most distinguished book-length work of fiction by an American writer published during the calendar year.

Philip Roth
Operation Shylock: A Confession
(see entry below)

Edgar Allan Poe Award

Presented annually for outstanding achievement in mystery writing.

Minette Walters
The Sculptress

Laurie King
A Grave Talent
(first novel by an American)

Lawrence Block
"Keller's Therapy"
(short story)

Lawrence Block
(Grand Master)

(The entire section is 65 words.)

Pulitzer Prizes

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

Awarded in recognition of outstanding accomplishments by American authors in various categories within the fields of journalism, literature, music, and drama. Literary awards usually recognize excellence in works that concern American life.

E. Annie Proulx
The Shipping News
(see CLC, Volume 81)

Yusef Komunyakaa
Neon Vernacular: New and Selected Poems
(see entry below)

Edward Albee
Three Tall Women
(see entry below)

Rea Award

Presented annually to recognize outstanding achievement in the short story genre.


(The entire section is 178 words.)