Law and Politics

Start Free Trial

What are three primary U.S. laws that established the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and direct the department in its operations? What are three HSPDs that relate to these laws, and what is the nature of this relationship?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

There are several laws that are related to the Department of Homeland Security. The first law was the one that created this agency. It was the Homeland Security Act of 2002. It was passed in direct response to the terrorist attacks that occurred on September 11, 2001. This law also created a new cabinet position. This is the Secretary of Homeland Security.

Another law that was passed was the Intelligence Reform and Terrorist Prevention Act of 2004. The goal of this law was to reform activities connected with our intelligence community. Border supervision and transportation security were some areas impacted by this law.

A third law that was passed was Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007. This law basically implemented some of the recommendations from the 9/11 Commission. Some areas it dealt with were recommendations regarding the protecting of infrastructure and the sharing of information and intelligence.

These are some general laws that were passed as a result of the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001. Each law is connected to activities of the Department of Homeland Security.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial