Language Poets Representative Works - Essay

Representative Works

(Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism)

Bruce Andrews and Charles Bernstein
L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E [editors] (journal) 1979-83
The L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E Book [editors] (poetry) 1983

Christopher Beach
Indeterminacy: An Anthology of New Poetics [editor] (poetry) 1998

Steve Benson
Blindspots (poetry) 1981

Charles Bernstein
Controlling Interests (poetry) 1980
Content's Dream: Essays 1975-1984 (essays) 1986
My Way: Speeches and Poems (speeches and poetry) 1998

Clark Coolidge
A Geology (poetry) 1981

Robert Grenier and Barrett Watten
This [editors] (journal) 1971

Carla Harryman
Under the Bridge (poetry) 1980

Lyn Hejinian
My Life (poetry) 1980

Lyn Hejinian and Barrett Watten
Poetics Journal [editors] (journal) 1982-98

Susan Howe
Hinge Picture (poetry) 1974
Chanting at the Crystal Sea (poetry) 1975
Secret History of the Dividing Line (poetry) 1978
Cabbage Gardens (poetry) 1979
Defenestration of Prague (poetry) 1983
My Emily Dickinson (essays) 1985
A Bibliography of the King's Book, or, Eikon Basilike (poetry) 1989
Frame Structures (poetry) 1996

Steve McCaffery
North of Intention (essays) 1986

Douglas Messerli
“Language” Poetries: An Anthology [editor] (poetry and essays) 1987

Michael Palmer
Blake's Newton (poetry) 1972
The Circular Gates (poetry) 1974
Without Music (poetry) 1977
Notes for Echo Lake (poetry) 1981
First Figure (poetry) 1984
At Passages (autobiography) 1995

Bob Perelman
The Marginalization of Poetry: Language Writing and Literary History (essays) 1996

Leslie Scalapino
Considering How Exaggerated Music Is (poetry) 1982

Ron Silliman
Ketjak (poetry) 1974
Alcheringa [editor] (journal) 1975
Tjanting (poetry) 1981
The Age of Huts (poetry) 1986
In the American Tree: Language, Poetry, Realism (poetry and essays) 1986
The New Sentence (essays) 1987

Barrett Watten
Total Syntax (essays) 1984
Frame (1971–1990) (collected poems) 1997

Hannah Weiner
Clairvoyant Journal (poetry) 1978
Nijole's House (poetry) 1981
Code Poems (poetry) 1982
Sixteen (poetry) 1983
Spoke (poetry) 1984
silent teachers remembered sequel (poetry) 1994