Kristin Hunter Analysis

Start Your Free Trial

Bibliography

(Great Authors of World Literature, Critical Edition)

Download Kristin Hunter Study Guide

Subscribe Now

Early, Gerald. “Working Girl Blues: Mothers, Daughters, and the Image of Billie Holiday in Kristin Hunter’s God Bless the Child.” Black American Literature Forum 20, no. 4 (Winter, 1968). Illustrates Hunter’s use of the tragic career of the famous singer to parallel that of the novel’s protagonist.

Schraufnagel, Noel. From Apology to Protest. Deland, Fla.: Everett/Edwards, 1973. Treats the novels of the 1960’s as accommodationist literature in the tradition of Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man, James Baldwin’s Go Tell It on the Mountain, and Ann Petry’s The Narrows.

Turner, Darwin. Introduction to God Bless the Child, by Hunter. Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1986. An attempt to explain the book as a logical progression of black literary history.

Whitlow, Roger. Black American Literature. Rev. ed. Totowa, N.J.: Rowman & Allanhead, 1984. Considers Hunter as an important satirist of the 1960’s.

Williams, Gladys Margaret. “Blind and Seeing Eyes in the Novel God Bless the Child.” Obsidian, 1975. A perceptive essay on Hunter’s best novel.