Joyce Carol Oates Oates, Joyce Carol (Vol. 108)

Start Your Free Trial

Download Joyce Carol Oates Study Guide

Subscribe Now

Principal Works∗

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

By the North Gate (short stories) 1963
With Shuddering Fall (novel) 1964
Upon the Sweeping Flood and Other Stories (short stories) 1966
Expensive People (novel) 1967
A Garden of Earthly Delights (novel) 1967
Women in Love and Other Poems (poetry) 1968
Anonymous Sins and Other Poems (poetry) 1969
them (novel) 1969
Love and Its Derangements: Poems (poetry) 1970
Ontological Proof of My Existence (drama) 1970
The Wheel of Love and Other Stories (short stories) 1970
Wonderland (novel) 1971
The Edge of Impossibility: Tragic Forms in Literature (criticism) 1972
Marriages and Infidelities (short stories) 1972
Angel Fire (poetry) 1973
Do with Me What You Will (novel) 1973
Dreaming America (poetry) 1973
The Hostile Sun: The Poetry of D. H. Lawrence (criticism) 1973
The Goddess and Other Women (short stories) 1974
The Hungry Ghosts: Seven Allusive Comedies (short stories) 1974
Miracle Play (drama) 1974
New Heaven, New Earth: The Visionary Experience in Literature (criticism) 1974
Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?: Stories of Young America (short stories) 1974
The Assassins: A Book of Hours (novel) 1975
The Fabulous Beasts (poetry) 1975
The Poisoned Kiss and Other Stories from the Portuguese (short stories) 1975
The Seduction and Other Stories (short stories) 1975
Childwold (novel) 1976
Crossing the Border: Fifteen Tales (short stories) 1976
Triumph of the Spider Monkey: The First Person Confessions of the Maniac Bobby Gotteson as Told to Joyce Carol Oates (novella) 1976
Night Side: Eighteen Tales (short stories) 1977
Season of Peril (poetry) 1977
All the Good People I've Left Behind (short stories) 1978
Son of the Morning (novel) 1978
The Stepfather (poetry) 1978
Women Whose Lives Are Food, Men Whose Lives Are Money: Poems (poetry) 1978
Cybele (novel) 1979
Unholy Loves (novel) 1979
Bellefleur (novel) 1980
The Lambe of Abyssalia (short stories) 1980
Three Plays (drama) 1980
Angel of Light (novel) 1981
Celestial Timepiece (poetry) 1981
Contraries: Essays (essays) 1981
A Sentimental Education: Stories (short stories) 1981
A Bloodsmoor Romance (novel) 1982
Invisible Woman: New and Selected Poems, 1970–1972 (poetry) 1982
The Luxury of Sin (poetry) 1983
The Profane Art: Essays and Reviews (essays) 1983
Last Days: Stories (short stories) 1984
Mysteries of Winterthurn (novel) 1984
Solstice (novel) 1985
Marya: A Life (novel) 1986
Wild Nights (short stories) 1985
Raven's Wing: Stories (short stories) 1986
Artist in Residence [with Eileen T. Bender] (nonfiction) 1987
On Boxing (nonfiction) 1987
You Must Remember This (novel) 1987
The Assignation: Stories (short stories) 1988
Lives of the Twins [as Rosamond Smith] (novel) 1988
(Woman) Writer: Occasions and Opportunities (essays) 1988
American Appetites (novel) 1989
Soul/Mate [as Rosamond Smith] (novel) 1989
The Time Traveler (poetry) 1989
Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart (novel) 1990
I Lock the Door upon Myself (novel) 1990
Nemesis [as Rosamond Smith] (novel) 1990
In Darkest America: Two Plays (drama) 1991
I Stand Before You Naked (drama) 1991
The Rise of Life on Earth (novel) 1991
Twelve Plays (drama) 1991
Black Water (novel) 1992
Heat: And Other Stories (short stories) 1992
Snake Eyes [as Rosamond Smith] (novel) 1992
Where Is Here?: Stories (short stories) 1992
Foxfire: Confessions of a Girl Gang (novel) 1993
Haunted: Tales of the Grotesque (short stories) 1994
What I Lived For (novel) 1994
The Perfectionist and Other Plays (drama) 1995
Will You Always Love Me? (short stories) 1995
You Can't Catch Me [as Rosamond Smith] (novel) 1995
Zombie (novel) 1995
First Love: A Gothic Tale (novella) 1996
We Were the Mulvaneys (novel) 1996

∗Dates of dramas refer to first publication.

†This work also was adapted as a play in 1985.

Ellen Joseph (review date 25 October 1964)

(Contemporary Literary Criticism)

SOURCE: "Growing up Assured," in The Sunday Herald Tribune Book Week, October 25, 1964, pp. 21, 23.

[In the following review, Joseph comments on the plot, themes, and characters of With Shuddering Fall.]

The enthusiasm that greeted Joyce Carol Oates last year upon the publication of her first volume, a collection of short stories called By the North Gate, clearly was not misplaced.

Her new book, a novel titled With Shuddering...

(The entire section is 51,518 words.)