Download PDF Print Page Citation Share Link

Last Updated on May 11, 2015, by eNotes Editorial. Word Count: 393

Joseph Krumgold was bom on April 9, 1908, in Jersey City, New Jersey, to Henry and Lena Gross Krumgold. Fascinated with his father's career as a film exhibitor, Joseph decided that he, too, wanted to work with movies. After receiving his bachelor's degree from New York University in 1928, he worked in the New York office of Metro-Goldwyn- Mayer and later moved to Hollywood to begin a career as a screenwriter and producer with Paramount, Republic, RKO, and Columbia. His screenplays include Lady from Nowhere (1936), The Blackmailer (1936), Adventure in Manhattan (1936), Lone Wolf Returns (1936), Join the Marines (1937), Jim Hanvey— Detective (1937), Lady Behave (1938), Speed to Burn (1938), Main Street Lawyer (1939), The Phantom Submarine (1940), The Crooked Road (1940), Seven Miles from Alcatraz (1942), Magic Town (1947), and Dream No More (produced in Israel in 1950).

Illustration of PDF document

Download Joseph Quincy Krumgold Study Guide

Subscribe Now

From 1940 to 1946, Krumgold produced and directed films for Film Associates in New York City and worked for the Office of War Information. He served as the president of productions for Palestine Films from 1946 to 1950, a time period that witnessed Israel's establishment as an independent nation. In 1950 Krumgold opened Joseph Krumgold Productions; the company received an Academy Award nomination for one of its documentaries and first prizes at the Edinburgh, Prague, and Venice Film Festivals. Krumgold also worked as a writer, producer, and director for the National Broadcast Company, the Columbia Broadcasting System, National Educational Television, and Westinghouse Television.

Krumgold loved books, particularly stories that families could enjoy together, and was a prolific author. His novels include Thanks to Murder (1935), Sweeney's Adventure (1942), And Now Miguel, Onion John, Henry 3, and The Most Terrible Turk: A Story of Turkey (1969). He also wrote a historical book, The Oxford Furnace, 1741-1925 (1976), a critique entitled Where Do We Grow From Here: An Essay on Children's Literature (1968), and numerous articles for periodicals. Krumgold received the Newbery Award from the American Library Association for And Now Miguel in 1954 and Onion John in 1960, becoming the first author to be honored with this award twice.

Krumgold married Helen Litwin on January 10, 1947, and had one son, Adam. He maintained a home on Shiloh Farm in Hope, New Jersey, and traveled and worked in New York, Hollywood, Israel, Paris, London, Turkey, and Rome. At home he served on the school board and was active in the Author's League, the Jewish Center, Pi Lambda Phi, Players, and the Screenwriter's Guild. He died of a cerebral hemorrhage on July 10, 1980, in Hope, New Jersey.

Unlock This Study Guide Now

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-hour free trial