Jeanette Winterson Analysis

Other literary forms

(Survey of Novels and Novellas)

Jeanette Winterson has dramatized several of her own books, most notably Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (1990) for British television. She has written original radio drama and worked on a documentary, Great Moments in Aviation (1994), also for British television. She has written short stories, essays, and columns for The Guardian and The Times. One of her earlier books was a comic book, and she has published several works of children’s fiction, including The King of Capri (2003) and Tanglewreck (2006).


(Survey of Novels and Novellas)

Jeanette Winterson has been in the public eye from the time her first novel won the Whitbread Prize. She was named by Granta magazine one of the twenty best young British writers. Other prizes include the Prix d’Argent at the Cannes Film Festival, the Prix Italia, and the BAFTA Best Drama Award for her television adaptation of Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit. She won the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize for The Passion and the E. M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters for Sexing the Cherry. In 2006, she was awarded the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for services to literature. Her books have been translated into more than one dozen languages.


(Great Authors of World Literature, Critical Edition)

Allen, Carolyn. Following Djuna: Women Lovers and the Erotics of Loss. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1996. Winterson is covered in this study of the influence of Djuna Barnes.

Gilmore, Leigh. The Limits of Autobiography: Trauma and Testimony. Ithaca, N.Y.: Cornell University Press, 2001. Contains an essay on the “anatomy of absence” in Written on the Body.

Grice, Helena, and Tim Woods, eds. “I’m Telling You Stories”: Jeanette Winterson and the Politics of Reading. Atlanta: Rodopi, 1998. A collection of nine essays, many of a very dense theoretical nature. The essays by Lynne Pearce and by the editors, however, are good introductory studies.

Harris, Andrea. Other Sexes: Rewriting Difference from Woolf to Winterson. Albany: State University of New York Press, 2000. A study of the representation of lesbianism and “alternate” sexuality in Virginia Woolf, Marianne Hauser, Djuna Barnes, and Winterson.

Pressler, Christopher. So Far So Linear: Responses to the Work of Jeanette Winterson. Nottingham, England: Pauper’s Press, 2000. A study of the critical reception of Winterson’s work.

Reynolds, Margaret, and Jonathan Noakes. Jeanette Winterson. New York: Vintage, 2003. A reader’s guide to four of Winterson’s novels, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, The Passion, Sexing the Cherry, and The PowerBook.