(Janet Miriam) Taylor (Holland) Caldwell

Start Free Trial


Download PDF Print Page Citation Share Link

(Janet Miriam) Taylor (Holland) Caldwell 1900–

Illustration of PDF document

Download (Janet Miriam) Taylor (Holland) Caldwell Study Guide

Subscribe Now

(Also wrote under pseudonyms of Max Reiner and Marcus Holland) English-born American novelist.

Since the publication of her first novel, Dynasty of Death, in 1938, Caldwell has written over thirty internationally best-selling romance novels. Many of her works are long, multigenerational sagas featuring immigrant protagonists who struggle for wealth and power. Caldwell has also written religious fiction, notably Dear and Glorious Physician (1959) and I, Judas (1977). These novels received favorable reviews for their attempt to demystify Saint Luke and Judas Iscariot. Testimony of Two Men (1968) and Captains and the Kings (1972) were serialized for television.

Critics generally agree that Caldwell's greatest strength as a novelist lies in her narrative ability. Her novels exhibit extensive historical research, thus providing a realistic sense of place. It is conceded, however, that much of her writing is formulaic, with stock characters and contrived plots. In addition, critics fault her didactic tendency. Still, Caldwell provides a "good read" and her enduring popularity ensures her a dominant place in the romance genre.

(See also CLC, Vol. 2; Contemporary Authors, Vol. 5-8, rev. ed.; and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series, Vol. 5.)

Unlock This Study Guide Now

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-hour free trial

George Dangerfield