Which branches of the federal government exercise what expressed powers?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Expressed powers are those that are specifically written in the Constitution of the United States. The Constitution grants Congress the most power with over twenty-seven specific expressed powers. Some of the more important expressed powers of Congress include the power to make laws and levy taxes. The expressed powers of the legislature are contained in Article I, Section 8 and include policies for citizenship, granting copyright or patents, and the ability to declare war. The Congress also has the power to approve treaties.

Much of the power of the President of the United States has been created by precedence and not constitutional law. Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution states the powers of the president. In this part of the Constitution, the president is made the commander-in-chief of the armed forces and is given the rights to negotiate treaties. The president is also permitted to appoint members and the department heads of his executive departments and cabinet, subject to the approval of Congress.

The judicial branch of the federal government is given very few expressed powers. They are charged with interpreting and hearing court cases that deal with the federal law. Much of the power of the Supreme Court was established through precedence, with the Marbury v. Madison case creating the principle of judicial review for the Court.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial