Henry Fielding Shamela Principal Works - Essay

Principal Works

(Literary Criticism (1400-1800))

Love in Several Masques (play) 1728

The Author's Farce and The Pleasures of the Town (play) 1730

The Temple Beau (play) 1730

Tom Thumb (play) 1730; also published as The Tragedy of Tragedies; or, The Life and Death of Tom Thumb the Great [enlarged edition] 1731

The Welsh Opera, or, The Grey Mare the Better Horse [as Scriblerus Secundus] (play) 1731; also published as The Grub-Street Opera, 1731

The Covent-Garden Tragedy (play) 1732

The Modern Husband (play) 1732

Don Quixote in England [adaptor; from the novel Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes] (play) 1734

Pasquin: A Dramatick Satire on the Times; Being the Rehearsal of Two Plays, viz. a Comedy Called “The Election” and a Tragedy Called “The Life and Death of Common Sense” (play) 1736

The Historical Register for the Year 1736 (play) 1737

An Apology for the Life of Mrs. Shamela Andrews. In Which, the Many Notorious Falsehoods and Misrepresentations of a Book Called “Pamela” Are Exposed and Refuted; and All the Matchless Arts of That Young Politician, Set in a True and Just Light [as Conny Keyber] (novel) 1741; also published as Shamela in Joseph Andrews and Shamela, 1961

The History of the Adventures of Joseph Andrews, and of his Friend Mr. Abraham Adams. Written in Imitation of Cervantes, Author of “Don Quixote” (novel) 1742; also published as Joseph Andrews, 1935

A Journey from This World to the Next (novel) 1743; published in Miscellanies, Vol. II

The Life of Mr. Jonathan Wild the Great (satire) 1743; published in Miscellanies, Vol. III; also published as Jonathan Wild, 1932

Miscellanies. 3 vols. (essays, satires, dramas, and poetry) 1743

The History of Tom Jones, a Foundling (novel) 1749; also published as Tom Jones, 1896

Amelia (novel) 1751

An Enquiry into the Causes of the Late Increase of Robbers, & c., with Some Proposals for Remedying This Growing Evil (essay) 1751

A Proposal for Making an Effectual Provision for the Poor (essay) 1753

The Journal of a Voyage to Lisbon (journal) 1755

The Works of Henry Fielding, Esq; With the Life of the Author. 4 vols. (dramas, novels, satires, and essays) 1762

The Complete Works of Henry Fielding, Esq. 16 vols. (novels, satires, dramas, essays, journalism, and poetry) 1903