What are the ten main events in The Giver?

Quick answer:

The first main event in The Giver is when a plane flies over the community. Next, Jonas’s father brings home baby Gabe. Shortly after, Jonas sees an apple “change.” Then, Jonas becomes Receiver of Memory. He soon stops taking pills that prevent stirrings and starts transferring memories to Gabe. One day, the Giver shows Jonas that release means killing. Furious, Jonas plans his escape with the Giver's help and takes Gabe with him.

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Ten main events in The Giver include the following:

  1. The Ceremony of Twelve occurs as the beginning of the novel. This ceremony is a major event in The Giver, as it sets the stage for the future of the characters, including the protagonist, Jonas.
  2. Another main event is when Jonas and Asher toss an apple at recess and Jonas sees something strange about the apple. The Giver later explains to him that what he saw was color. In their controlled society, people see only shades of black, white, and gray, so the color comes as a surprise and is key to Jonas's ability to understand later on that there are many things that have been “controlled” in his society.
  3. Asher is late to school, as per usual, and must apologize to his class, illustrating the strict codes by which the community lives. In unison and almost robotically, the class responds, “We accept your apology, Asher.”
  4. Jonas's sister tells a story during sharing time at dinner. The importance of this is her attitude about her classmates in her story.
  5. Jonas's father brings the baby, Gabriel, home to help nurture him. This is a main event because it opens a new story line, whereby Jonas bonds with another person, begins to fear for his safety, and ultimately learns the truth about his parents’ emotions and acceptance of certain rules that Jonas begins to question.
  6. Jonas begins his training with the Giver.
  7. The Giver imparts memories to Jonas, who feels certain pains for the first time ever but also experiences things such as snow for the first time.
  8. Jonas begins to bond with the baby, Gabe.
  9. The Giver unveils to Jonas what “releasing” really means, and Jonas views a scene in which a person is released. When the community “releases” a person, it kills them. Jonas fears for the baby’s safety as soon as he learns that the baby might be released.
  10. Jonas takes the baby and flees the community, setting in motion the climax of the novel as the two seek the community outside of theirs where the controls are not in place and where the baby might be safe to grow up as a normal child does.
Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles
  1. A plane flies over Jonas’s community, and everyone is scared. A voice on the loudspeaker instructs everyone to seek shelter and abandon their bikes, which never happens. Soon it’s discovered that the plane was there because a pilot in-training got confused, and as punishment, he will be released.
  2. Jonas’s father, who works as a nurturer, brings home a Newchild (a newborn baby) to care for. The baby’s name is Gabe, and his eyes have a light color just like Jonas’s eyes.
  3. Jonas sees an apple “change” while it’s in the air. Initially, the reader doesn’t know what this change means, but later we discover that Jonas saw the color red on it. The rest of the community cannot see color.
  4. Jonas is skipped during the Ceremony of Twelve, in which all twelve year olds receive their jobs. At the end of the ceremony, it is revealed he was intentionally skipped because he has been assigned to be the next Receiver of Memory, which is an important, respected position.
  5. After receiving memories for a while, Jonas finds the Giver overwhelmed with pain one day. He tells the Giver to give him some of the pain, and he receives the memory of war.
  6. Jonas begins to transfer comforting memories to baby Gabe.
  7. It’s revealed that Jonas has stopped taking the pills that numb his stirrings.
  8. The Giver shows Jonas a video of his father releasing a newchild, and Jonas learns that release means that the person is killed.
  9. Jonas and the Giver plan an escape for Jonas.
  10. Jonas finds out that Gabe is scheduled to be released, so he escapes early and takes Gabe with him.
Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

1. Jonas has dinner with his family, and they all tell each other their feelings of the day.

2. Jonas's father brings home Gabriel for the first time.

3. Jonas goes to the House of Old. He listens to Larissa describe the release ceremony for a man named Roberto.

4. Jonas feels the "Stirrings," and he begins taking pills to suppress them.

5. Jonas attends the Ceremony of Twelve and becomes the next Receiver.

6. Jonas meets The Giver. He receives his first memory. It is the memory of sledding down a hill in the snow. He also receives a painful memory. The memory is of a sunburn. 

7. Jonas begins to see color.

8. Jonas learns about the previous Receiver and her release.

9.  Jonas receives memories of warfare.

10. Jonas learns what "releasing" actually is.

11. (Bonus) Jonas and Gabriel run away.

Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

1.  Jonas sees an airplane (he realizes there is life beyond the community)

2. Jonas' father brings home a newchild and Jonas is started by Gabriel's eyes

3. Jonas begins to see color

4.  Jonas feels "stirrings"

5.  Jonas is assigned to be the Receiver of Memory

6.  Jonas learns what "release" means

7.  Jonas and the Giver formulate a plan of escape

8.  Jonas escapes with Gabriel

9.  Jonas finds out that the memories are now his very own

10.  Jonas finds the sled and goes downhill with Gabriel toward Elsewhere

Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles
  1. The airplane flies over.  This teaches Jonas about what fear is and it shows us how tightly controlled the society is.
  2. Jonas becomes the Receiver of Memory.
  3. Jonas finds out what happens when babies are released.
  4. Jonas experiences the memory of the war.
  5. Jonas starts putting memories into Gabe to keep him from being cranky.,
  6. Jonas takes Gabe and runs away.
  7. Jonas heads down the hill on the sled.
  8. Jonas gets Stirrings.
  9. Jonas sees his friends playing war and can't understand why they would do that.
  10. Jonas learns about color.
Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

What are the ten major events of The Giver by Lois Lowry?

I know this is too late for you, both in the interest of helping others in the future I want to answer.

1)      Jonas sees a plane accidentally fly over the community, and learns that the pilot will be released.

2)      Jonas’s father brings Gabriel home for extra nurturing.

3)      Jonas is selected as Receiver of Memory in the Ceremony of Twelve.

4)      Jonas learns that he has the Capacity to See Beyond, and realizes that he can see colors.

5)      Jonas begins receiving memories from The Giver.

6)      Jonas stops taking the pills for the Stirrings and does not tell anyone.

7)      Jonas has an argument with Asher about war games, and realizes he is different .

8)      Jonas watches the video of the Newborn twin being released.

9)      Jonas learns that Gabe is scheduled to be released and begins planning his escape.

10)   Jonas and Gabriel reach Eslewhere and/or die (depending on your point of view).

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Last Updated on