George MacDonald Principal Works - Essay

Principal Works

(Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism)

Within and Without (poetry) 1855

Poems (poetry) 1857

Phantastes (novel) 1858

David Elginbrod 3 vols. (novel) 1863

Adela Cathcart 3 vols. (novel) 1864

A Hidden Life and Other Poems (poetry) 1864

The Portent: A Story of the Inner Vision of the Highlanders, Commonly Called the Second Sight (short story) 1864

Alec Forbes of Howglen 3 vols. (novel) 1865

Annals of a Quiet Neighborhood 3 vols. (novel) 1867

Dealings with the Fairies (short stories) 1867

Unspoken Sermons (sermons) 1867

Robert Falconer 3 vols. (novel) 1868

The Seaboard Parish 3 vols. (novel) 1868

At the Back of the North Wind (short story) 1871

The Princess and the Goblin (novel) 1872

Wilfrid Cumbermede 3 vols. (novel) 1872

England's Antiphon (criticism) 1874

Malcolm 3 vols. (novel) 1875

The Wise Woman (novel) 1875; also published as The Lost Princess, 1895

Thomas Wingfold, Curate 3 vols. (novel) 1876

The Gifts of the Christ Child and Other Tales (short stories) 1882

Donal Grant (novel) 1883

The Imagination and Other Essays (essays) 1883

The Princess and Curdie (novel) 1883

Unspoken Sermons [second series] (sermons) 1886

What's Mine's Mine (novel) 1886

Unspoken Sermons [third series] (sermons) 1889

The Light Princess and Other Fairy Stories (short stories) 1890

There and Back (novel) 1891

The Hope of the Gospel (sermons) 1892

A Dish of Orts (essays) 1893

Heather and Snow (novel) 1893

Lilith (novel) 1895

Salted with Fire (novel) 1895

George MacDonald: An Anthology (aphorisms) 1946

The Golden Key (short story) 1967

Getting to Know Jesus: Sermons (sermons) 1987