European Colonization of North America

Start Free Trial

What were some British colonies in North America in 1860?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The British American colonies in North America in 1860 eventually became the independent country of Canada. At the time, however, they were separate and distinct colonies, each under British rule. They included Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, Canada (which was smaller than the present day Canada), New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Vancouver Island, and British Columbia.

By the early 1860s, the British had grown tired of carrying the expense of maintaining and defending these colonies. They wanted them to become independent states. The Canadian colonies themselves were, by 1862, worried about the American Civil War. They feared that armies heading north, especially if England entered the war on the side of the Confederacy, would take over their lands and absorb them into the United States. Therefore, they also became motivated to seek independence so that they could unite and defend their borders. In 1867, Canada became an independent nation.

It is worth nothing that the colonies that eventually formed Canada were able to achieve independence without fighting a war, mostly because the British were glad to relinquish them.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Approved by eNotes Editorial