Eudora Welty Discussion Topics


Discussion Topics

(Masterpieces of American Literature)

Some of Eudora Welty’s characters are called “grotesques,” or exaggerated to the point of caricature. Which characters seem to fit that definition?

How does Welty use humor in her works?

How does Welty’s fiction reflect her belief in the continuing presence of the past?

What evidence do you find in Welty’s works of her belief in the value of the family?

How do Welty’s characters deal with community pressures?

Welty typically uses several points of view in a single work in order to show how differently people see reality. In which works is that technique especially effective?