Eminent Victorians by A. N. Wilson

Start Your Free Trial

Download Eminent Victorians Study Guide

Subscribe Now

Eminent Victorians

(Critical Survey of Contemporary Fiction)

EMINENT VICTORIANS is the second of three new books by the prolific young British writer A.N. Wilson to be published in the United States in 1990, the other two being C.S. LEWIS: A BIOGRAPHY, the best available life of Lewis, and the novel A BOTTLE IN THE SMOKE, the second installment of a projected trilogy. Despite this extraordinarily productive pace, EMINENT VICTORIANS shows no sign of strain.

Wilson takes his title from Lytton Strachey’s famous book published in 1918. The original EMINENT VICTORIANS presented wickedly satirical portraits of Dr. Thomas Arnold, Florence Nightingale, Cardinal Henry Edward Manning, and General Charles George Gordon (best known as Chinese Gordon). Enormously influential not only in its treatment of the Victorian age but also in its approach to biography, Strachey’s EMINENT VICTORIANS is, in the 1990’s, a book more often cited than read, particularly in the United States, where it is unlikely that one of a hundred English majors has actually read Strachey’s book.

Wilson’s EMINENT VICTORIANS is intended as a corrective to Strachey’s...

(The entire section is 347 words.)