Drama—Major Awards Analysis

Pulitzer Prize in Drama Winners

(Critical Edition of Dramatic Literature)

In 1903, Joseph Pulitzer, a prominent American journalist and owner of two major newspapers, made a gift of $2 million to New York’s Columbia University. His will stipulated that $550,000 of that sum be reserved to fund prizes in journalism, letters, and music. In 1912, an Advisory Board of the School of Journalism (later renamed the Pulitzer Prize Board) was created to administer the prizes.

The drama award was added in 1917, although no prize was awarded that year. Stipulations asserted that a play could be considered only if it has been performed in New York during the twelve months between March 2 of a given year to March 1 of the following year, and only if it represented the educational value and power of the stage in raising the standard of good morals, good taste, and good manners. Plays original in their sources and that dealt with American life were given preference. No award was given in years when the Pulitzer Prize board deemed its standard of excellence was not met by the field of potential competitors.

1917——(No award)

1918——Why Marry? by Jesse Lynch Williams

1919——(No award)

1920——Beyond the Horizon by Eugene O’Neill

1921——Miss Lulu Bett by Zona Gale

1922——Anna Christie by Eugene O’Neill

1923——Icebound by Owen Davis

1924——Hell-Bent fer Heaven by Hatcher Hughes

1925——They Knew What They Wanted by Sidney Howard

1926——Craig’s Wife by George Kelly

1927——In Abraham’s Bosom by Paul Green

1928——Strange Interlude by Eugene O’Neill

1929——Street Scene by Elmer L....

(The entire section is 734 words.)