Download PDF Print Page Citation Share Link

The Dew Breaker is a collection of short stories by Edwidge Danticat. The stories are all linked, in some way or another, to Danticat’s home country, Haiti—as well as to one another. Danticat explores themes of familial and romantic love, nationhood, and sense of self throughout.

Illustration of PDF document

Download The Dew Breaker Study Guide

Subscribe Now

The Book of the Dead

“The Book of the Dead” is about a young sculptor, Ka, and the complex relationship she has with her parents. After telling Ka that he’d disposed of a sculpture she had made of him, Ka’s father confesses to her the crimes he’d done as a dew breaker, or torturer, in 1960s Haiti. Ka struggles to come to terms with this information and the life her parents lived before having her.


“Seven” is the story of a married couple’s reunion after having been apart for seven years. Both from Haiti, they endured separation for the man to find work in the United States. Underneath all the joy and the affection of their reunion, however, we find that both had been unfaithful in their time apart. They story ends with both of them in silence, reminiscing about their “carnival marriage” back in Haiti and how the charade of it had translated to true life.

Water Child

“Water Child” is the story of a Haitian nurse, named Nadine, working in the United States. Nadine works in the Ear, Nose, and Throat wing of a hospital. She forms a bond with Ms. Hinds, a schoolteacher who has lost her voice. The story shows us that, in a way, Nadine is voiceless too—she refuses to contact her family or engage in social activities. She considers her parents, colleagues, and past lovers as all belonging not to her, but to the life of a stranger.

The Book of Miracles

The protagonist of “The Book of Miracles” is Anne, Ka’s mother from “The Book of the Dead.” This story is about Anne, her husband, and Ka attending Christmas Mass. On their way to the church, Anne relates news of miracles from all over the world. Despite this, it is clear she is unsatisfied with her family’s faith, as she is with her own as well. At the end of the story, however, Anne realizes that the “pendulum of regret and forgiveness” she goes through every day is a small miracle in itself.

Night Talkers

“Night Talkers” is the story of Dany’s surprise visit to his aunt in Haiti, who resides in the mountains with a close-knit community. Upon arriving, Dany tells his aunt that he had found in New York the man who had blinded her and killed his parents. His aunt, however, refuses to talk about the matter. She soon dies in her sleep, leaving Dany to wonder if his encounter with the killer was merely the universe’s way to compel him to visit his aunt before she died. The story is entitled “Night Talkers” because Dany and his aunt are among those who talk in their sleep, who mutter secrets and truths when the moon is out.

The Bridal Seamstress

“The Bridal Seamstress” is about journalist Aline Kajuste and one of her interviewees, Beatrice Saint Fort—the titular bridal seamstress. Fort is retiring from dressmaking, and so Kajuste shows up at her home to interview her for a news piece. Fort meanders and tells Kajuste of the man who has followed her around all her life, moving to every neighborhood she goes. Curiously, this endears Kajuste to Fort and compels her to leave her dissatisfactory life to stay with Fort indefinitely.

Monkey Tails

“Monkey Tails” is a story of Michel, a child during a time of political unrest in Haiti. The adult Michel is telling the story, and we soon learn he is actually addressing his own unborn infant child. Michel talks of his bond with Romain, an older boy from his neighborhood, and how they risked their lives to search for Romain’s father. Michel and Romain waded through violent political demonstrations in the street but did not find him. Michel soberly relates this story and how he will name his son after Romain, his first true...

(The entire section contains 1581 words.)

Unlock This Study Guide Now

Start your 48-hour free trial to unlock this The Dew Breaker study guide. You'll get access to all of the The Dew Breaker content, as well as access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

  • Summary
  • Themes
  • Characters
  • Analysis
  • Quotes
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial