Delarivier Manley Principal Works - Essay

Principal Works

(Literary Criticism (1400-1800))


The Secret History of Queen Zarah, and the Zarazians; Being a Looking-glass for—In the Kingdom of Albigion. 2 vols. 1705

*Secret Memoirs and Manners of Several Persons of Quality, of Both Sexes. From the New Atalantis, an Island in the Mediterranean. 2 vols. 1709

*Memoirs of Europe, Towards the Close of the Eighth Century. 2 vols. 1710

The Adventures of Rivella; or, the History of the Author of the Atalantis (fictional autobiography) 1714 (also published as Mrs Manley's History of her Own Life and Times, 1725)

The Novels of Mary Delariviere Manley. 2 vols, (facsimiles) 1971

*These four volumes are known collectively as the New Atalantis.


Letters Written by Mrs. Manley (fictional letters) 1696 (also published as A Stage Coach Journey to Exeter, 1725)

The Lost Lover (play) 1696

The Royal Mischief (play) 1696

Almyna (play) 1707

The Duke of M——h's Vindication (political pamphlet) 1711

The Lady's Pacquet of Letters Broke Open (fictional and authentic letters) 1707-08 (also published as Court Intrigues in a Collection of Original Letters from the Island of the New Atalantis, 1711)

A Learned Comment on Dr. Hare's Sermon (political pamphlet) 1711

A True Narrative of what passed at the Examination of the Marquis de Guiscard (political pamphlet) 1711

A True Relation of the Several Facts and Circumstances of the Intended Riot and Tumult on Queen Elizabeth's Birth-day (political pamphlet) 1711

The Honour and Prerogative of the Queen's Majesty Vindicated (political pamphlet) 1713

A Modest Enquiry into the Reasons of the Joy Expressed by a Certain Sett of People upon the Spreading of a Report of Her Majesty's Death (political pamphlet) 1714

Lucius, the First Christian King of Britain (play) 1717

The Power of Love: in Seven Novels (adaptations) 1720