Christianity in Twentieth-Century Literature Representative Works - Essay

Representative Works

(Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism)

W. H. Auden
For the Time Being (poetry) 1944

James Baldwin
Go Tell It on the Mountain (novel) 1953
Notes of a Native Son (essays) 1955

Willa Cather
Death Comes for the Archbishop (prose) 1927
Not Under Forty (essays and criticism) 1936

G. K. Chesterton
The Man Who Was Thursday (novel) 1908
The Ball and the Cross (novel) 1909
The Flying Inn (novel) 1914

Paul Claudel
Le soulier de satin, ou le pire n'est pas toujour sur (play) 1929; also published as The Satin Slipper 1931

William DuBois
The Souls of Black Folk: Essays and Sketches (novel) 1903

T. S. Eliot
Journey of the Magi (poetry) 1927
For Lancelot Andrewes: Essays on Style and Order (essays) 1929
Ash-Wednesday (poetry) 1930
Murder in the Cathedral (play) 1935
Four Quartets (poetry) 1943

William Faulkner
The Sound and the Fury (novel) 1929

F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Great Gatsby (novel) 1925

Graham Greene
The Heart of the Matter (novel) 1948
The End of the Affair (novel) 1951

Ernest Hemingway
The Sun Also Rises (novel) 1926
A Farewell to Arms (novel) 1929
To Have and Have Not (novel) 1937
For Whom the Bell Tolls (novel) 1940

Langston Hughes
Not Without Laughter (novel) 1930

C. S. Lewis
Out of the Silent Planet (novel) 1938
Perelandra (novel) 1943
That Hideous Strength: A Modern Fairy-Tale for Grownups (novel) 1945
The Screwtape Letters (novel) 1961

Walter Miller
A Canticle for Leibowitz (novel) 1959

Francois Muriac
Le Desert de l'amour (novel) 1925; also published as The Desert of Love 1929
Le Noeud de viperes (novel) 1932; also published as Viper's Tangle 1933
A Mauriac Reader (contains A Kiss for the Leper,Genetrix, The Desert of Love, The Knot of Vipers, and A Woman of the Pharisees) (novels) 1968

Walker Percy
Love in the Ruins: The Adventures of a Bad Catholic at a Time Near the End of the World (novel) 1971

Dorothy Sayers
The Man Born To Be King (drama) 1942

Allen Tate
Poems: 1928-1931 (poetry) 1932

Evelyn Waugh
Holderlin's Madness (poetry) 1938
Poems, 1937-1942 (poetry) 1942
Brideshead Revisited (novel) 1945

Charles Williams
War in Heaven (novel) 1930
Three Plays (includes The Witch, The Chaste Wanton, and The Rite of the Passion) (play) 1931
The House of the Octopus (play) 1945.
Seed of Adam, and Other Plays (plays) 1948