Carolyn Keene Biography

Start Your Free Trial

Download Carolyn Keene Study Guide

Subscribe Now


(Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults)

Carolyn Keene was one of the pen names used by the Stratemeyer Literary Syndicate, founded by Harriet Adams's father, Edward Stratemeyer. Under that name Adams directed the writing of all the Nancy Drew books published between 1930 and 1982, as well as thirty-two books in the Dana Girls series. Adams also oversaw the writing of twenty-one volumes in the Tom Swift Jr. series, published under the pen name Victor Appleton II; fifteen volumes in the Barton Books for Girls series, published under the name May Hollis Barton; twenty volumes in the Hardy Boys series, published under the name Franklin W. Dixon; fifteen volumes in the Bobbsey Twins series, published under the name Laura Lee Hope; four volumes in the Linda Craig series, published under the name Ann Sheldon; and seven volumes in the Honey Bunch series, published under the name Helen Louise Thorndyke.

Harriet Stratemeyer Adams was born December 3, 1892, in Newark, New Jersey. She was the daughter of Edward and Magdalene Van Camp Stratemeyer. In 1914 she graduated from Wellesley College with a major in English; religion, music, science, and archeology are among the other interests reflected in her books. In 1915 she married Russell Vroom Adams, and they were the parents of two daughters. Harriet Adams died on March 27, 1982, in Pottersville, New Jersey.

When her father died in 1930, Adams became senior partner of the Stratemeyer Literary Syndicate, publisher of numerous series for young readers including the Rover Boys, the Hardy Boys, Tom Swift, Honey Bunch, and the Dana Girls. Although the idea of Nancy Drew originated with Edward Stratemeyer, Adams regarded Nancy almost as one of her children, writing or rewriting all of the seventy-one books published...

(The entire section is 422 words.)