Principal Works

Download PDF PDF Page Citation Cite Share Link Share

Last Updated on June 7, 2022, by eNotes Editorial. Word Count: 430

Spirits in Bondage: A Cycle of Lyrics [as Clive Hamilton] (poetry) 1919
Dymer [as Clive Hamilton] (poetry) 1926
The Pilgrim's Regress: An Allegorical Apology for Christianity, Reason and Romanticism (novel) 1933
The Allegory of Love: A Study in Medieval Tradition (criticism) 1936
Out of the Silent Planet (novel) 1938
Rehabilitations and Other Essays (essays) 1939
The Problem of Pain (nonfiction) 1940
The Screwtape Letters [revised edition published as Screwtape Proposes a Toast and Other Pieces, 1965] (novel) 1942
Broadcast Talks: Right and Wrong; A Clue to the Meaning of the Universe and What Christians Believe [republished as The Case for Christianity, 1943] (broadcasts) 1942
A Preface to "Paradise Lost" (criticism) 1942
Christian Behaviour: A Further Series of Broadcast Talks (broadcasts) 1943
Perelandra (novel) 1943
The Abolition of Man; or, Reflections on Education with Special Reference to the Teaching of English in Upper Forms of Schools (nonfiction) 1943
Beyond Personality: The Christian Idea of God (essays) 1944
That Hideous Strength: A Modern Fairy-Tale for Grownups (novel) 1945
The Great Divorce: A Dream (novel) 1945
Miracles: A Preliminary Study (nonfiction) 1947
Transpositions [republished as The Weight of Glory] (essays) 1949
The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (juvenilia) 1950
Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia (juvenilia) 1951
The Voyage of the "Dawn Treader" (juvenilia) 1952
Mere Christianity (nonfiction) 1952
The Silver Chair (juvenilia) 1953
The Horse and His Boy (juvenilia) 1954
English Literature in the Sixteenth Century, Excluding Drama (criticism) 1954
The Magician's Nephew (juvenilia) 1955
Surprised by Joy: The Shape of My Early Life (autobiography) 1955
The Last Battle (juvenilia) 1956
Till We Have Faces: A Myth Retold (novel) 1956
Reflections on the Psalms (nonfiction) 1958
Studies in Words (criticism) 1960
The Four Loves (nonfiction) 1960
The World's Last Night and Other Essays (essays) 1960
A Grief Observed [as N. W. Clerk] (autobiography) 1961
An Experiment in Criticism (criticism) 1961
They Asked for Paper: Papers and Addresses (criticism) 1962
The Discarded Image: An Introduction to Medieval and Renaissance Literature (criticism) 1964
Letters to Malcolm: Chiefly on Prayer (correspondence) 1964
Poems (poetry) 1964
Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature (criticism) 1966
Of Other Worlds: Essays and Stories (essays and short stories) 1966
Spenser's Image of Life (criticism) 1967
Christian Reflections (essays) 1967
A Mind Awake: An Anthology of C. S. Lewis (essays) 1968
Narrative Poems (poetry) 1969
Selected Literary Essays (essays and criticism) 1969
God in the Dock: Essays on Theology and Ethics [published in England as Undeceptions: Essays on Theology and Ethics, 1971; republished as First and Second Things, 1985] (essays) 1970
Fernseed and Elephants and Other Essays on Christianity (essays) 1975
The Dark Tower and Other Stories (short stories) 1977
The Joyful Christian: 127 Readings from C. S. Lewis (essays) 1977
Boxen: The Imaginary World of the Young (sketches) 1985
Present Concerns (essays) 1986
The Seeing Eye and Other Selected Essays from Christian Reflections (essays) 1986
All My Road Before Me: The Diary of C. S. Lewis, 1922–1927 (diary) 1991

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access