How many moons does the sun have?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The sun doesn't have any moons. A moon is a natural satellite that orbits around a planet. Since the sun is classified as a star and not as a planet, it has no moons. There are 9 planets that orbit around the sun--Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. A few years ago, astronomers decided that Pluto is too small to be considered a planet, even though it does have moons. Now it is called a dwarf planet. Since 2005, two more dwarf planets, Eris and Ceres, have been discovered in our solar system.

Visit the links below for more information.

Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Our sun has no moons. It has planets that revolve around it and the moons then revolve around the planets. Currently, most scientists consider eight objects that orbit the sun to be planets but some also include Pluto and other dwarf planets that have been recently discovered. Currently, we know of 166 moons that orbit around the eight large planets in our solar system.

Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

The sun has zero moons. A moon is a natural satellite of a planet, a dwarf planet, or even an asteroid. The sun is not one of those items. The sun is a star, and stars do not have moons; however, stars do have natural satellites. The natural satellites of a star are called planets, dwarf planets, asteroids, and/or comets. Our sun has eight planets that revolve around it. They are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. Most of those planets have at least one moon in orbit; however, Mercury and Venus do not have any moons. In addition to those 8 planets, our solar system currently has 5 dwarf planets. While Jupiter and Saturn do have many more moons than the other planets, the size of the planet doesn't directly relate to the number of moons that a planet has. Earth is larger than Mars, yet Mars has twice as many moons as Earth. Pluto, as a dwarf planet, currently has five moons.

Approved by eNotes Editorial
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

How many moons does Saturn have?

According to the IAU (International Astronomical Union) Saturn, which is the sixth planet from the sun has

"18 known moons that have received officially sanctioned names."

The most famous of the moons of Saturn is Titan. Most of the moons which revolve around Saturn are mostly made up of ice with only about 30% rock.

"Voyager 1 revealed that Titan may have seas of liquid methane bordered by organic tarlike matter. Titan's thick blanket of orange clouds, however, prevent a direct view of the surface."

Last Updated on
An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

How many moons does Saturn have?

Saturn is a fascinating planet and very mysterious even though scientists have been studying it closely for hundreds of years. 

Christiaan Huygens discovered the first known moon of Saturn in the year 1655 and named it Titan. Giovanni Domenico Cassini (later on the Cassini spacecraft would be named after him) discovered four more moons in the 1670s and 1680s: Iapetus (1671), Rhea (1672), Dione (1684), and Tethys (1684).

The next moon of Saturn wasn't discovered until over 100 years later—Mimas and Enceladus were found by William Herschel in 1789. The next two moons were found in 1848 (Hyperion) and 1898 (Phoebe).

Currently, astronomers believe that Saturn has a total of 61 moons. It's possible there are more—or less. Why less? Because of the 61 moons, 8 are considered provisional moons, meaning they haven't been totally confirmed as moons yet. 

NASA's Saturn Moon page is very comprehensive and has data on every single moon (provisional or not!). You can find it here. 

Here's a list of all of Saturn's moons. First up are the confirmed moons, and then the eight provisional moons:

1. Aegaeon
2. Aegir
3. Albiorix
4. Anthe
5. Atlas
6. Bebhionn
7. Bergelmir
8. Bestla
9. Calypso
10. Daphnis
11. Dione
12. Enceladus
13. Epimetheus
14. Erriapus
15. Farbauti
16. Fenrir
17. Fornjot
18. Greip
19. Hati
20. Helene
21. Hyperion
22. Hyrrokkin
23. Iapetus
24. Ijiraq
25. Janus
26. Jarnsaxa
27. Kari
28. Kiviuq
29. Loge
30. Methone
31. Mimas
32. Mundilfari
33. Narvi
34. Paaliaq
35. Pallene
36. Pan
37. Pandora
38. Phoebe
39. Polydeuces
40. Prometheus
41. Rhea
42. Siarnaq
43. Skathi
44. Skoll
45. Surtur
46. Suttungr
47. Tarqeq
48. Tarvos
49. Telesto
50. Tethys
51. Thrymr
52. Titan
53. Ymir
1. S/2004 S7
2. S/2004 S12
3. S/2004 S13
4. S/2004 S17
5. S/2006 S1
6. S/2006 S3
7. S/2007 S2
8. S/2007 S3

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access
Last Updated on