Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr.

Start Free Trial

Principal Works

Download PDF PDF Page Citation Cite Share Link Share

Last Updated on June 7, 2022, by eNotes Editorial. Word Count: 137

Orestes A. Brownson: A Pilgrim's Progress (nonfiction) 1939
The Age of Jackson (nonfiction) 1945
The Vital Center: The Politics of Freedom (essays) 1949
The General and the President and the Future of American Foreign Policy [with Richard H. Rovere] (nonfiction) 1951
The Crisis of the Old Order, 1919–1933 (nonfiction) 1957
The Coming of the New Deal (nonfiction) 1959
Kennedy or Nixon: Does It Make Any Difference? (non-fiction) 1960
The Politics of Upheaval (nonfiction) 1960
The Politics of Hope (essays) 1963
A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House (memoris) 1965
The Bitter Heritage: Vietnam and American Democracy, 1941–1966 (essays) 1967
The Crisis of Confidence: Ideas, Power, and Violence in America (essays) 1969
The Imperial Presidency (essays) 1973
Robert Kennedy and His Times (biography) 1978
The Cycles of American History (essays) 1986
The Disuniting of America: Reflections on a Multicultural Society (essays) 1991

∗These works are collectively referred to as The Age of Roosevelt.

See eNotes Ad-Free

Start your 48-hour free trial to get access to more than 30,000 additional guides and more than 350,000 Homework Help questions answered by our experts.

Get 48 Hours Free Access