Arthur C. Clarke Achievements


(Literary Essentials: Short Fiction Masterpieces)

Arthur C. Clarke received numerous awards. The most representative include Hugo Awards for science fiction in 1956, 1974, and 1980; UNESCO’s Kalinga Prize in 1961, for science writing; the Stuart Ballantine Gold Medal in 1963, for originating the concept of communications satellites; an Academy Award nomination in 1969 for best screenplay; Nebula Awards for science fiction in 1972, 1973, and 1980; a GALAXY Award for science fiction in 1979; and the Centennial Medal in 1984, for scientific achievements. Other distinguished honors include the prestigious Grand Master Award from the Science Fiction Writers of America in 1986, the Charles A. Lindbergh Award in 1987, and his election to the Society of Satellite Professions Hall of Fame in 1987 and to the Aerospace Hall of Fame in 1988. In 1989 Clarke became a Commander of the British Empire, and he received a knighthood for “services to literature” in 1998.

Beginning in the 1950’s, Arthur C. Clarke became acknowledged as a major science-fiction author, winning several Hugo and Nebula Awards for his works, and he earned the Kalinga Prize in 1961 for science writing. He garnered greater renown in 1968 as author of the novel 2001: A Space Odyssey and as a screenwriter of the Stanley Kubrick film of the same title, which led to an Academy Award nomination; a year later, he joined newscaster Walter Cronkite as a television commentator on the Apollo 11 space mission to the Moon. From the 1970’s on, his novels were best sellers, the most successful being his sequels to 2001. In the 1980’s and 1990’s, Clarke hosted three documentary television series about strange phenomena, Arthur C. Clarke’s Mysterious World (1980), Arthur C. Clarke’s World of Strange Powers (1985), and Arthur C. Clarke’s Mysterious Universe (1994). In 1998, he was knighted by the British government for his contributions to literature, and in 2005 his adopted home country of Sri Lanka bestowed on him its highest civil honor, Sri Lankabhimanya.