Aesop Principal Works - Essay

Principal Works

(Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism)


"Androcles and the Lion"

"The Ant and the Fly"

"The Ant and the Grasshopper"

"The Ass in the Lion's Skin"

"The Bullfrog and the Bear"

"The Butterfly and the Wasp"

"The Cock and the Fox"

"The Cock and the Jewel"

"The Dog and the Meat"

"The Dog and the Wolf "

"The Dog in a Manger"

"The Eagle and the Beetle"

"The Eagle and the Vixen"

"The Farmer and the River"

"The Farmer and the Snake"

"The Father and His Sons"

"The Fir Tree and the Bramble"

"The Flies and the Honey-Pot"

"The Fox and the Cock"

"The Fox and the Crow"

"The Fox and the Grapes"

"The Gnat and the Bull"

"The Good Man and the Serpent"

"The Hare and the Tortoise"

"The Jackdaw and the Doves"

"The Lion and the Mouse"

"The Lion in Love with the Farmer's Daughter"

"The Lion, the Ass, and the Fox"

"The Miller, His Son, and Their Ass"

"The Milk-Woman and Her Pail"

"The Mouse and the Frog"

"The North Wind and the Sun"

"The Nurse and the Wolf "

"The Peacock and the Crane"

"The Snake and the Crab"

"The Stomach and the Feet"

"The Swallow and the Other Birds"

"The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse"; or "The Two Mice"

"Winter and Spring"

"The Wild Horse and the Stag"

"The Wolf and the Crane"

"The Wolf and the Lamb"

"The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing"

"The Wolves and the Dogs"

"The Woodcutter and Hermes"


Aesop's Fable (translated by Samuel Croxall [1722]; Limited Editions Club edition) 1933

The Fables of Aesop (translated by Joseph Jacobs [1894]) 1950

Fables (translated by S. A. Handford [1954]; Penguin Books edition) 1994

Aesop without Morals (translated by Lloyd W. Daly) 1961

Caxton's Aesop (translated by William Caxton [1484]) 1967

Aesop's Fables, 1740 (edited by Samuel Richardson [1740]) 1975

Fables from Aesop and Others (translated by Charles H. Bennett [1857]) 1978