In "The Bear," why does Faulkner place the incidents of section 5 at the end instead of in chronological order?

Expert Answers
lprono eNotes educator| Certified Educator


Like other modernist writers, Faulkner rarely arranges his narratives in chronological order. One of the distinctive features of literary modernism, a movement that developed in the 1920s and 1930s, is its manipulation of narrative time and its subversion of chronological order. This is also one of the most enduring legacies of the modernist movement. Through this subversion of chronological development as well as through the use of multiple viewpoints (a technique that Faulkner adopted in The Sound and the Fury), modernist works tried to convey the incresing complexity of the modern world and the workings of the human psyche. The Fourth Section of the story is particularly baffling for readers as it constantly moves through different time periods, confusing past and present.

Read the study guide:
The Bear

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question