Why did the British lose the thirteen American colonies?

Expert Answers
rrteacher eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The British lost the thirteen colonies because they were defeated in the American Revolutionary War. When they signed the Treaty of Paris to end the war in 1783, they acknowledged that the colonies were free and independent states, and they gave the new United States all of the lands east of the Mississippi and north of Florida. The reasons they lost the thirteen colonies stretch back to the years following the French and Indian War. British authorities attempted to change the relationship between colonies and mother country in ways that the colonists argued were not consistent with their rights. For example, Parliament passed a Stamp Act that placed a tax on all official documents, contrary to the longstanding tradition that English subjects would not be taxed without their consent. This sparked a series of crises that ultimately led to the American Revolution. One year into the Revolution, the colonists declared their independence, ensuring that if the British did not win the war, they would lose the colonies. They did not win the war, basically because they found it difficult to occupy the colonies, a vast expanse of territories, at once, and perhaps more importantly, because the kingdom of France provided assistance in the form of its navy and several thousand troops.