Expert Answers
pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Little Rock Nine were nine African American teenagers who were the first blacks to be admitted to Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas, after the Supreme Court's desegregation ruling.  The Little Rock Nine faced tremendous opposition from whites in Little Rock.  The opposition was bad enough that President Dwight D. Eisenhower was forced to nationalize the Arkansas National Guard and order them to protect the Nine and to ensure that they would be allowed to integrate the school.

This incident happened in 1957.  It is generally considered to be one of the most important incidents of the Civil Rights Movement.

The nine students were:

... sixteen-year-old Minnie Jean Brown, Ernest Green, and Selma Mothershead; fifteen-year-old Elizabeth Eckford, Jane Hill, and Terrence Roberts; and fourteen-year-old Gloria Ray, Jefferson Thomas, and Carlotta Walls.