Expert Answers
pohnpei397 eNotes educator| Certified Educator

The Treaty of Versailles was the creation of the leaders of the victorious powers.  They met in Paris to hash out the details of the treaty among themselves.  At first, there were representatives from a large number of countries.  However, the representatives of the smaller countries did not have much of a role.  In the end, only three of the countries played the most important roles in the negotiations.  These were the United States, represented by President Woodrow Wilson, the United Kingdom, represented by Prime Minister David Lloyd George, and France, represented by Premier Georges Clemenceau.  Premier Vittorio Orlando of Italy was also involved but ended his participation before the treaty was completed because of the other allies' unwillingness to grant him territorial concessions.

We should say, then, that the United States, the United Kingdom, and France, as represented by their respective heads of government, were "behind" the Treaty of Versailles.

Access hundreds of thousands of answers with a free trial.

Start Free Trial
Ask a Question