Who participated in the vote to elect Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House in 2007?

1 Answer

gsenviro's profile pic

gsenviro | College Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted on

The Speaker of the House is elected by the members of the House of Representatives. To be elected as the Speaker, a candidate must obtain an absolute majority of all the votes cast, excluding any members who abstained from the voting. 

Nancy Pelosi won the Speaker's post by a 233-202 vote.