Who is the intended audience for this book?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

Ceremony by Leslie Marmon Silko is a philosophical look into the nature of war and the importance of cultural traditions. The book's intended audience is anyone who wants to learn about Native American folklore and traditions, particularly those of Native American tribes in the Southwest. The novel is good reading material for young adults, especially high school students. The author balances fantastical narratives and traditional indigenous folklore, so there are elements of both entertainment and learning to the story.

Ceremony is also intended for those who enjoy fiction with a philosophical subtext in the tradition of Dostoevsky or Tolstoy. There are philosophical commentaries on war, morality, and the concept of community. This is illustrated in the section in which the protagonist is faced with the Japanese enemies and is reminded by their Asian features of the faces of family members back home. This is symbolic of how all humans are part of the same family.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team