In 1984, who are Goldstein, Jones, Aaronson, and Rutherford? What happened to each of them?

Expert Answers

An illustration of the letter 'A' in a speech bubbles

In George Orwell’s 1984, we know for certain that Jones, Rutherford, and Aaronson were early leaders of the Revolution.  We also know that they were tortured because they came to be seen as threats to the leadership of the party.  You can read a relatively long discussion of these men’s fate in Part I, Chapter 7.

In Part I, Chapter 7, Winston relates how he once saw the three men in a café after they had been arrested and had been held for over a year before being released.  At their show trials, they had confessed to many crimes.  They had then been released, but Winston knew that it was only a matter of time before they would disappear again.  Looking at the men, Winston sees evidence that they have been tortured.

Goldstein is something of a different story.  He is supposed to be a former party leader like the other three.  Unlike them, we are not sure if he really ever existed or if he was made up by the party to be an object of popular hatred.  Goldstein has allegedly gone against the party and Big Brother and has started the rebel group, the Brotherhood.  Again, we are never really sure if he actually exists.

Approved by eNotes Editorial Team

We’ll help your grades soar

Start your 48-hour free trial and unlock all the summaries, Q&A, and analyses you need to get better grades now.

  • 30,000+ book summaries
  • 20% study tools discount
  • Ad-free content
  • PDF downloads
  • 300,000+ answers
  • 5-star customer support
Start your 48-Hour Free Trial